Awards, prizes, scholarships 2018

The cdw Foundation Support Award (EXAMEN 2018) was awarded to: Theresa Grysczock (3,000 euros) and Saskia Drebes (3,000 euros). In addition, Wenzel Stählin (1,000 euros) received a special prize. Honorable mentions, endowed with 500 euros each, went to Echo Can Luo and Hase & Zinser.

Imina Geilmann (Visual Communication, Kassel Art Academy), Luka Naujoks and Nora Wunderwald win the mb21 multimedia award (1st place in the 16-20 years category) for theironline magazine "TIERINDIR".

Johannes Strüber is a scholarship holder of the German National Academic Foundation.

Florian Maubach's "Robbers and Gendarm" is honored with the German Short Film Award 2018 in the category "Animation".

In the category of young talent, Lea Schücking is awarded the Federal Ecodesign Prize for her work "Shards".

A "Special Recognition" in the Lucky Strike Junior Designer Awards 2018 (in the category "Product & Industry") was awarded to Verena Hutter with "Möbius Speaker. A cooperation with Bang & Olufsen".

The Honorary Award of the 35th Kassel Documentary Film and Video Festival will be presented to Bjørn Melhus. The prize, endowed with 3,000 euros, is donated by the Kassel-based company Hübner GmbH & Co KG.

The Art Prize of the Kassel Business Park (UPK Art Prize) was awarded to Joey Arand (5,000 euros). In the area of promoting young talent, students Jonas Leichsenring and Lea Schücking were each awarded 2,500 euros.

Ekachai Eksaroj receives a 9-month residential scholarship at Künstlerhaus Schloss Balmoral. The Künstlerhaus Schloss Balmoral is an institution of the Stiftung Rheinland-Pfalz für Kultur.

Andreas Munk, former student of product design at the Kunsthochschule Kassel, received the award for the best idea at the UNIKAT Ideas Competition 2018 (2,500 euros) with his idea "INST.ant".

Anna Holzhauer (visual arts) receives the sponsorship award of the Darmstädter Sezession 2018.

SHARDS by Lea Schücking (product design student) is awarded the Hessen Design Competition 2018 Young Talent Award.

BraunPrize 2018: In the Young Talent category, the Bronze Prize ($5,000) goes to "INST.ant" by Andreas Munk (product design graduate of the Kunsthochschule Kassel).

Florian Maubach's graduation film "Räuber & Gendarm" was nominated for the FIRST STEPS Award 2018 in the category short and animated film.

The Rotary Club (RC) Kassel-Hofgeismar supports Saskia Drebes (product design) and Jacob Höfle (visual arts) with a scholarship. The two students will each receive 500 euros per month over a period of ten months.

Rundgang prices (Kunsthochschule Kassel): Daniela Heller (Birgitt Bolsmann, prize money 1,100 euros), Lisa Schreiber, René Graf, Annagenia Jacob, Fiona Sophie Körner (SV SparkassenVersicherung prize, prize money 2,500 euros), Seungkyu Yung (Universitätsgesellschaft Kassel e.V. prize, prize money 750 euros).

"Grace Autonomy" (student jury): Jannes Lüdtke, Abdalla Mohamed, Lisa-Maria Schmidt, Susanne Tesche (Medal for Courage), Hannah Hartmann, Philip Weyer (Prize of the Students), Florian Bode (Prize of the Staff* of the Kunsthochschule Kassel, Prize Money 700 Euro).

Saskia Drebes (product design) and Jakob Höfle (visual arts) are supported by the Rotary Club Kassel-Hofgeismar as scholarship holders for a period of ten months (January to October) with 500 euros per month each.

Alumna Burcu Türker receives the comic scholarship of the Senate Department for Culture and Europe Berlin. This is associated with an exhibition at the Museum für Kommunikation Berlin.

ROTOPOL receives the Hessian Publishing Award 2018. The publishing house for graphic storytelling, founded in Kassel in 2007, is headed by alumna Rita Fürstenau. The award is endowed with 15,000 euros.

HessenFilm und Medien GmbH supports film projects by students of the Kassel University of the Arts: Annika Nesheim (funding amount: 15,000 euros), Ferdinand Kowalke (funding amount: 10,000 euros), Florian Maubach (funding amount: 10,000 euros), Maren Wiese (funding amount: 20,000 euros).

Katharina Jäger takes 2nd place (1,500 euros) in the Prima Vista photo competition (Wiesbaden).

"Beyond Beach" by Clara Winter and Miguel Ferráez will be screened in the German Competition of the 64th International Short Film Festival Oberhausen.

The 2018 Kassel Art Award of the Dr. Wolfgang Zippel Foundation goes to Olga Holzschuh in the field of visual arts.

Miriam Jazmin Carranza is a fellow of the German National Academic Foundation.

Martin Tony Häußler's luminaire ("KOR black") was awarded "best of" within the Design Plus Awards powered by Light+Building.

Valeria Abendroth,Dorothee Hase, Martha Frieda Friedel, Hannah Meisinger and Elena Seubert receive a scholarship from the Otto Braun Fund in the amount of 520 euros per month for six months.

The up-and-coming illustrator Sophie Nicklas receives the 2018 Gestalterpreis from Büchergilde Gutenberg.

As part of the 8th German RecyclingDesign Award, Lea Schücking was awarded 2nd prize.

Alles in Butter by Rike Holtz was awarded Best Medium or Feature Film at the 9th Cinalfama International Film Awards.

At Flickerfest in Australia, Jonatan Schwenk won the Academy Award accredited "Best International Short Animation" for SOG.

At the 30th European First Film Festival Premiers Plans (France) Jonatan Schwenk received the Grand Jury Prize Europaen Student Films for SOG.

Kathi Seemann and Maximilian Hänisch receive a working scholarship at the Künstlerkolonie Willingshausen.