Awards, prizes, scholarships 2017

Abdalla Mohamed has been a scholarship holder of the Friedrich Ebert Foundation since January 2017. He is supported with 950 euros per month until the month of the last exam within the standard period of study.

Sebstian Gneiting, student of visual communication, receives a scholarship from the German National Academic Foundation.

The audience award at the Fumetto Festival in Lucerne went to Elena Seubert from Visual Communication. The artist had created a comic on the theme of seduction.

Anja Köhne is funded with the Mark Dion's Floodwater Residency, Westwendischer Kunstverein, Gartow.

Ida Lorbach receives the Deutschlandstipendium of the University of Kassel for 1 year (300 Euro per month).

The state of Hesse supports 5 film projects of the Kunsthochschule Kassel: Kimia Eyzad Panah (funding amount: 5,000 euros), Annika Glass (funding amount: 5,000 euros), Khatia Kurasbediani (funding amount: 5,000 euros), Natascha Werner (funding amount: 5,000 euros) and Daniel Maaß (funding amount: 5,000 euros).

The sponsorship award of the cdw Stiftung gGmbH (EXAMEN 2017) went to: Daniel von Bothmer (1st prize, 4,500 euros). 3 further prizes, each endowed with 1,000 euros, were awarded to: Natalia Escudero López, Martin Rost and the team Examen Lab (Marie-Sophie Kammler, Christian Herman, Pascal Heußner, Jeremias van Nieuwkoop).

Paula Mierzowsky and Norgard Kröger received a scholarship (Volkswagen Fellowship) for "CARE LESS".

Jonatan Schwenk received the following awards for his film "SOG": 1st Prize in German Competition at interfilm Berlin, Wolfgang-Längsfeld-Preis for the Most Original Film at Filmschoolfest Munich, MAIN PRICE Animated Dreams Student Competition at PÖFF Shorts and the Honourable Mention at Etiuda&Anima. Schwenk studies at the HfG Offenbach and in the animation class at the Kunsthochschule Kassel (guest student). The video part of the film "SOG" was made in Offenbach, and the animation part in Kassel.

At La Cabina: Festival Internacional de Mediometrajes in Valencia, "Simba in New York" by Tobias Sauer was awarded best film in the section "Amalgama".

Rosa-Violetta Grötsch and Nicole Jüttner (Visual Arts) received the 2nd prize (3,000 euros) as part of the UPK Art Award 2017.

The documentary COUNTRY OF WOMEN by Aliaksei Paluyan is awarded the Special Prize for adherence to moral ideals in cinema art at the Listapad International Film Festival in Minsk.

The winners of the Frankfurt Film Award, visionale17, have been determined: In the category Young Professionals Kimia Eyzad Panah wins the 1st prize for "Being Sisters", Tobias Sauer wins the 2nd prize for his portrait Wang Bing and Johanna Groß & Daniel Hellwig win the 3rd prize for their film "Der Nöck".

Maurice Eric Zacher (Product Design) received a scholarship from the IKEA Foundation (total of 3,000 euros) for completing his thesis.

Jan Wagemann received 2nd prize (prize money of 1,000 euros) in the UNIKAT ideas competition for his design project "RE-TIRE". In addition, Ruth Firsching was awarded the audience prize for her "outdoor clothing made of natural materials".

Julia Kopylova receives a scholarship from the Otto Braun Fund.

Arianna Waldner Bingemer wins the Movy 2017, a film award from the non-profit Kultcrossing, for "Kassel 9.12."

Rundgang prices (Kunsthochschule Kassel): Hannah Meisinger, Hilke Heithecker (Birgitt Bolsmann Prize), Daniel von Bothmer (Klangland Prize), Beat Sandkühler, Svenja Matthes & Christian Wittmoser, Klasse ter Heijne, Klasse redaktionelles Gestalten, Clara Winter & Miguel Ferráez (Prize of the SparkassenVersicherung), René Wagner (Prize of the staff* of the KhK), Jonas Grubelnik (Prize of the Universitätsgesellschaft Kassel e. V.), Charlotte Hermann, Echo Can Luo, Anja Lewald (Student Prize "less adorno more play"), Jonas Leichsenring (Rundgangspokal), Jan Heise, Elko Braas for special commitment (Jury of students).

Romina Abate is awarded the Friedrichshafener Künstlerförderpreis in the category "visual arts". The city awarded artist promotion prizes in three categories, which are endowed with a total of 12,000 euros.

The animation studio Raum 230 GbR, founded by Dennis Stein-Schomburg and Martin Schmidt (graduates of the KhK), is supported by the Hessian state government with a grant of 135,000 euros.

Jonatan Schwenk (Visual Communication) won the top prize for Graduation Film in Annecy, Europe's largest animation festival, for his film "Sog."

"You Are Everything", graduation film by Lena Geller and Matthias Becker (Prof. Yana Drouz) wins 2 awards at the Long and Short Film Festival in the category of best camera and best feature film.

The 63rd Oberhausen Short Film Festival dedicates a "profile" and portrait to the film, media and transformation artist Prof. Bjørn Melhus .

Daniel Goffin, former student and master student of Prof. Hendrik Dorgathen, wins together with David Priemer the German Computer Game Award 2017 in the category Best Children's Game. The promotional prize is endowed with 75,000 euros.

The short film EMILY MUST WAIT by Svenja Matthes (production design) and Christian Wittmoser (director) was awarded the "Best European Independent Dramatic Short" at the European Independent Film Festival in Paris.

For Simba in New York, filmmaker Tobi Sauer has been awarded the LICHTER Art Award. The competition for contemporary video art comes with prize money of 1,000 euros.

The feature film "All About People" by Giorgi Abashishvili was awarded the Jury Prize for the "Best Feature Film of PFF 2017" and the Audience Award at the 7th International Philosophical Film Festival Skopje (Macedonia).

Sevda Güler, student of the class Film and Moving Image (Prof. Jan Peters, Volko Kamensky) and New Media (Prof. Aram Bartholl, Jörn Röder) takes part in the winter campus "Abenteuer Land 2017" as a scholarship holder of the artist city Kalbe.

Joey Arand (Visual Communication) and Robert Sturmhoevel (KhK Alumni) receive a working scholarship at the Künstlerkolonie Willingshausen in 2017.