Application Product Design

Admission requirements

Prerequisite for the Product Design program is proof of a higher education entrance qualification (i.e., Abitur, master’s examination) together with artistic talent. This is to be demonstrated in an artistic entrance examination. Applicants without an appropriate certificate may also apply and get accepted if they demonstrate exceptional artistic talent in the artistic entrance examination.

Start of program, internship

The program always begins in the winter semester, that is, in mid October. A technical internship of 9 months is part of the product design program. Internships may be done in technical or industry enterprises, technical colleges, or other establishments in which consumer products are manufactured from wood, metal, plastic, glass, ceramics, or textiles. The internship can be completed either in full or in part prior to the start of studies. Credit will be given for a relevant and comparable training program. A voluntary internship in a design office or an agency or the like does not fulfill this requirement, but is recommended for general orientation before or during the program. The 9 months must be completed before being admitted to the intermediate examination. As a rule, 6 of the 9 months (but at least 2) should be completed before beginning the program. There are currently also exceptions to these rules due to the Corona pandemic.

Portfolio

The portfolio should be organized in a way that it represents a statement about the development, personality, and skills of the applicant. It may contain: sketches, drawings, photos, watercolors, two or three-dimensional designs/works, and the like. Applicants are free to choose the format and the working method. The portfolio should consist of approx. 25 works/pages. While compiling the portfolio, keep in mind that designs, sketches, and preparatory drawings often provide more access to one’s approach than does a depiction of a finished work. 

The entrance examination

The entrance examinations to determine artistic talent take place in June (registration deadline: April 30) and September (registration deadline: August 15) at Kunsthochschule Kassel. All registered applicants are invited to the two-day entrance exam, to which they should bring their portfolios. During the entrance examination applicants will receive around 4 design tasks to work on. A selection committee made up of professors, staff, and students evaluate the portfolios and the completed tasks. In addition, the applicants take part in a short introductory conversation with the selection committee.

Product Design Infotag

Prospective students are advised to learn something about the program in Product Design ahead of time. Along with the general ways of getting information, counseling appointments with teachers from the program can be arranged. In addition, the Product Design program hosts an Infotag [information day] every year at Kunsthochschule Kassel.

Bewerbung für den Studiengang Produktdesign

Zulassungsvoraussetzungen

Voraussetzung für das Produktdesign-Studium ist der Nachweis der Allgemeinen Hochschulreife (z.B. Abitur, Meisterprüfung) in Verbindung mit der künstlerischen Begabung. Sie ist in einer künstlerischen Aufnahmeprüfung nachzuweisen. Bewerber und Bewerberinnen ohne ein entsprechendes Zeugnis können sich ebenfalls bewerben und einen Studienplatz erhalten, wenn sie in der künstlerischen Aufnahmeprüfung eine überragende künstlerische Begabung nachweisen.

Studienbeginn, Praktikum

Das Studium beginnt immer zum Wintersemester, also Mitte Oktober. Ein handwerkliches Praktikum von 9 Monaten ist Teil des Produktdesign-Studiums. Ausbildungsstellen können Handwerks- oder Industriebetriebe, Fachschulen oder andere Einrichtungen sein, in denen Gebrauchsprodukte und Werkstücke aus Holz, Metall, Kunststoff, Glas, Keramik oder Textil hergestellt werden. Das Praktikum kann entweder ganz oder zum Teil vor Studienbeginn absolviert werden. Eine entsprechende Ausbildung wird angerechnet. Ein freiwilliges Praktikum in einem Designbüro oder einer Agentur u. ä. ist hiermit nicht gemeint, aber für eine allgemeine Orientierung vor oder während des Studiums zu empfehlen. Die 9 Monate müssen bis zur Zulassung zum Vordiplom abgeleistet werden. Davon sind in der Regel 6 Monate vor Aufnahme des Studiums zu absolvieren, mindestens aber 2 Monate. Coronabedingt gibt es hier auch Ausnahmeregelungen.

Die Mappe

Die Mappe sollte so zusammengestellt sein, dass sie über die Entwicklung, Persönlichkeit und Kenntnisse der Bewerber*in eine Aussage darstellt. Sie kann enthalten: Skizzen, Zeichnungen, Fotos, Aquarelle, zwei- und/oder dreidimensionale Entwürfe/Arbeiten und ähnliches. Das Format und die Arbeitsweise können frei gewählt werden. Der Umfang sollte aus ca. 25 Arbeiten/Blättern bestehen. Bedenken Sie bei der Zusammenstellung, dass Vorentwürfe, Skizzen und Vorzeichnungen zu einer Arbeit häufig mehr Rückschlüsse auf die Denk- und Herangehensweise erlauben als nur ein Abbild der fertigen Arbeit.

Die Aufnahmeprüfung

Die Aufnahmeprüfungen zur Feststellung der künstlerischen Begabung finden im Juni (Anmeldefrist 30. April) und September (Anmeldefrist 15. August) an der Kunsthochschule Kassel statt. Alle angemeldeten Bewerber*innen werden zu der zweitägigen Aufnahmeprüfung eingeladen und bringen dazu Ihre Mappe mit. Während der Aufnahmeprüfung erhalten die Bewerber*innen ca. 4 gestalterische Aufgaben zur Bearbeitung. Eine Aufnahmekommission bestehend aus Professoren, Mitarbeitern und Studierenden evaluieren die Mappe und die Lösungen der Aufgaben. Zusätzlich findet noch ein kurzes Kennenlerngespräch mit den Bewerber*innen und der Aufnahmekommission statt.

Infotag Produktdesign

Studieninteressierten wird empfohlen, sich vorab über das Studium des Produktdesigns zu informieren. Neben den allgemeinen Informationsmöglichkeiten können Beratungstermine mit den Lehrenden des Studiengangs vereinbart werden. Außerdem veranstaltet der Studiengang Produktdesign an der Kunsthochschule Kassel jedes Jahr einen Infotag.