Application for the Study Programme in Visual Arts

Entry Requirements

If an applicant has a university entrance qualification (e.g. advanced school-leaving certificate, master craftsman's certificate) combined with artistic talent, he or she is eligible to apply to study on the art degree programmes at the Kunsthochschule. Evidence of artistic talent must be provided in an art entrance examination. Applicants without a university entrance qualification may also apply and will be admitted, providing they show evidence of outstanding artistic talent in the art entrance examination.

Apart from the above-mentioned requirements, we welcome applicants who have already been able to acquire diverse life experience in the context of a work placement, a study programme, a professional training scheme or a stay abroad prior to studying art.

Registration

Applicants can commence their studies as of the winter semester or as of the summer semester. The entrance examination is the first occasion on which applicants bring and present their portfolio. Registration for the entrance examination must be received by 30 April or 1 December, respectively, of the year in question (date of the postmark).

Attention:

Due to the continuing COVID-19 pandemic acceptance of new students in the summer semester 2021 and presumably in the winter semester 2021/22 will take place in an altered form:

Applicants are requested to fill out the registration form for the artistic entrance examination and to send it to the address indicated by April 30, 2021. Once the formal application criteria have been met, applicants will receive an invitation to an interview by post. The interviews will take place digitally on the Zoom platform. In preparation, all applicants are required to submit a digital application portfolio in PDF format. You will receive more detailed information in the invitation letter to the interview. Video and audio files are expressly welcome in the digital application! The easiest method is to upload the pertinent files onto a platform such as Vimeo or YouTube, and include the link in your digital application portfolio. Please remember to add specifications regarding size and material/techniques to all the materials you submit.

The practical entrance examination and submission of original works is discontinued until further notice.

Presentation/Portfolio

Ideally, you will have compiled your portfolio so as to provide information about your personality, development and knowledge. You are, in principle, free to decide on the format and working method.

Your personal presentation within the entrance examination can consist of a selection of two-dimensional and three-dimensional works, sketches, drawings, watercolours, photographs, drafts, a performance or similar. In compiling your works, you should, however, bear in mind that preliminary drafts, sketches and preparatory drawings for a work often permit more conclusions about your ways of thinking and approaches than an image of the finished work is able to convey.

In addition to creative and compositional questions, we are interested in your artistic concepts and your personal motivation, as well as your engagement with contemporary developments and trends in present-day art. Your presentation should include around 15 to 20 works. We do not recommend portfolio courses.

It is possible to apply for summer semester!

It is now possible to apply for the degree programme in Visual Arts not only for the beginning of the programme in the winter semester, but also for the summer semester.

Registration for the entrance examination for the degree programme in Visual Arts must be received by 1 December (date of the postmark). The Kunsthochschule will invite all applicants who have applied within the stipulated period to take the entrance examination, which takes place in the period from 1–5 February.

Bewerbung für das Studium der Bildenden Kunst

Zulassungsvoraussetzungen

Zum Studium in den künstlerischen Studiengängen der Kunsthochschule berechtigen ein Zeugnis der Allgemeinen Hochschulreife (z.B. Abitur, Meisterprüfung) in Verbindung mit der künstlerischen Begabung. Diese ist in einer künstlerischen Aufnahmeprüfung nachzuweisen.Bewerberinnen und Bewerber ohne Allgemeine Hochschulreife können sich ebenfalls bewerben und werden zugelassen, sofern sie in der künstlerischen Aufnahmeprüfung die hervorragende künstlerische Begabung nachweisen.

Neben den oben genannten Voraussetzungen begrüßen wir Bewerber und Bewerberinnen, die sich bereits vor dem Kunststudium im Rahmen eines Praktikums, eines Studiums, einer Berufsausbildung oder eines Auslandsaufenthalts vielfältige Lebenserfahrung aneignen konnten.

Anmeldung

Der Studienbeginn ist zum Wintersemester und zum Sommersemester möglich. Die Mappe wird erst zur Aufnahmeprüfung mitgebracht und vorgelegt. Die Anmeldung zur Aufnahmeprüfung muss bis zum 30. April bzw. 1. Dezember des jeweiligen Jahres eingegangen sein (Datum des Poststempels).

Achtung:

Aufgrund der anhaltenden Covid-19 Pandemie wird die Aufnahme neuer Studierender im Sommersemester 2021 und voraussichtlich im Wintersemester 2021/22 in veränderter Form ablaufen:

Studienbewerber*innen füllen bitte das Anmeldeformular zur künstlerischen Aufnahmeprüfung aus und senden dieses bis zum 30. April 2021 an die dort angegebene Adresse. Sind die formalen Bewerbungskriterien erfüllt, erhalten die Bewerber*innen per Post eine Einladung zum Aufnahmegespräch, welches digital auf der Plattform Zoom stattfinden wird. Im Vorfeld sind alle Bewerber*innen aufgefordert, eine digitale Bewerbungsmappe im pdf-Format einzusenden. Genaueres dazu erfahren Sie ebenfalls im Einladungsbrief zum Aufnahmegespräch. Bei einer digitalen Bewerbung sind Video- und Audio-Dateien ausdrücklich erwünscht! Am einfachsten ist es, Sie laden die entsprechenden Files auf eine Plattform wie Vimeo oder YouTube, und inkludieren den link in Ihre digitale Bewerbungsmappe. Bitte denken Sie daran, zu sämtlichen eingereichten Arbeiten Angaben zu Größe sowie Material/Technik hinzuzufügen.

Die praktische Aufnahmeprüfung sowie das Einreichen von Originalen entfällt bis auf weiteres.

Präsentation/Mappe

Im Idealfall ist Ihre Mappe so zusammengestellt, dass sie Aufschluss über Ihre Persönlichkeit, Entwicklung und Kenntnisse gibt. Über das Format und die Arbeitsweise können Sie grundsätzlich frei entscheiden.

Ihre persönliche Präsentation im Rahmen der Aufnahmeprüfung kann aus einer Auswahl von zwei- und dreidimensionalen Arbeiten, Skizzen, Zeichnungen, Aquarellen, Fotos, Entwürfen, einer Performance und Ähnlichem bestehen. Bei der Zusammenstellung Ihrer Arbeiten sollten Sie jedoch bedenken, dass Vorentwürfe, Skizzen und Vorzeichnungen zu einem Werk häufig mehr Rückschlüsse auf ihre Denk- und Herangehensweisen erlauben, als dies ein Abbild der fertigen Arbeit zu vermitteln vermag.

Neben gestalterischen und kompositorischen Fragestellungen interessieren wir uns für Ihre künstlerischen Konzepte und Ihre persönliche Motivation, sowie Ihre Auseinandersetzung mit zeitgenössischen Entwicklungen und Tendenzen der Gegenwartskunst. Der Umfang Ihrer Präsentation sollte etwa 15 bis 20 Arbeiten beinhalten. Mappenkurse empfehlen wir nicht.

Bewerbungen zum Sommersemester möglich!

Zusätzlich zum Studienbeginn im Wintersemester kann man sich für den Studiengang Bildende Kunst an der Kunsthochschule Kassel nun auch zum Sommersemester bewerben.

Die Anmeldung zur Aufnahmeprüfung des Studiengangs Bildende Kunst muss bis zum 1. Dezember  eingegangen sein (Datum des Poststempels). Alle Bewerberinnen und Bewerber, die sich fristgerecht beworben haben, werden von der Kunsthochschule zur Aufnahmeprüfung eingeladen. Diese finden in der Zeit vom 1.–5. Februar statt.